About the translation of poetry/Über die Übersetzung von Gedichten

Unter der Linden

Unter der Linden

(For the english audience only: „Under der Linden“ is a classic medieval poem from germany, that is important for german literature and was very influential. If your studying german literature there is no way around knowing this certain poem. I already made a post about the difficulties of translating poems (sorry, it’s in german, but I will try to translate it some time later) and that the main problem is too keep both intention and form of the poem. A problem you don’t really have if you are translating prose.)

As I already stated in an earlier post the translation of poems can be very difficult.  Sometimes the translation can be very off,  neither holding rhyme, metric or intention. But by chance I stumbled across a translation of an old german poem, that almost fits perfectly the original.

Middle High german transcription: Walther von der Vogelheide
Modern german translation: Karl Simrock
English translation: Raymond Oliver

Wie ich bereits im früheren Post gemeint habe, kann die Übersetzung von Gedichten äußerst schwierig sein. Manchmal sind die Übertragungen wirklich sehr weit  vom Original entfernt und können weder Reimschema, Metrik oder Intention des Originals beibehalten. Aber durch Zufall fand ich eine Übersetzung des alten germanischen Gedichtes, welches nahezu perfekt das Original einfängt.

Mittelhochdeutches Original: Walther von der Vogelweide
Moderne deutsche Übersetzung: Karl Simrock
Englische Übersetzung: Raymond Oliver

Vnder der linden Unter der Linden Under the lime tree
Under der linden
an der heide,
dâ unser zweier bette was,
dâ muget ir vinden
schône beide
gebrochen bluomen unde gras.
Vor dem walde in einem tal,
tandaradei,
schône sanc diu nahtegal.
Unter der Linden,
An der Heide,
Wo ich mit meinem Trauten sass,
Da mögt ihr finden,
Wie wir beide
Die Blumen brachen und das Gras.
Vor dem Wald mit süssem Schall,
Tandaradei!
Sang im Thal die Nachtigall.
Under the lime tree
On the heather,
Where we had shared a place of rest,
Still you may find there,
Lovely together,
Flowers crushed and grass down-pressed.
Beside the forest in the vale,
Tándaradéi,
Sweetly sang the nightingale.
Ich kam gegangen
zuo der ouwe:
dô was mîn friedel komen ê.
Dâ wart ich empfangen
(hêre frouwe!)
daz ich bin sælic iemer mê.
Kust er mich? Wol tûsentstunt:
tandaradei,
seht wie rôt mir ist der munt.
Ich kam gegangen
Zu der Stelle;
Mein Liebster war schon vor mir dort.
Mich hat empfangen
Mein Geselle,
Dass ich bin selig immerfort.
Ob er mir auch Küsse bot?
Tandaradei!
Seht, wie ist mein Mund so rot!
I came to meet him
At the green:
There was my truelove come before.
Such was I greeted —
Heaven’s Queen! —
That I am glad for evermore.
Had he kisses? A thousand some:
Tándaradéi,
See how red my mouth’s become.
Dô hete er gemachet
alsô rîche
von bluomen eine bettestat.
Des wirt noch gelachet
inneclîche,
kumt iemen an daz selbe pfat:
bî den rôsen er wol mac,
tandaradei,
merken wâ mir’z houbet lac.
Da ging er machen
Uns ein Bette
Aus süssen Blümlein mancherlei;
Des wird man lachen
Noch, ich wette,
So jemand wandelt dort vorbei;
Bei den Rosen er wohl mag,
Tandaradei!
Merken, wo das Haupt mir lag.
There he had fashioned
For luxury
A bed from every kind of flower.
It sets to laughing
Delightedly
Whoever comes upon that bower;
By the roses well one may,
Tándaradéi,
Mark the spot my head once lay.
Daz er bî mir læge,
wesse’z iemen
(nu enwelle got!), so schamte ich mich.
Wes er mit mir pflæge,
niemer niemen
bevinde daz, wan er und ich,
und ein kleinez vogellîn:
tandaradei,
daz mac wol getriuwe sîn.
Wie ich da ruhte,
Wüsst es Einer,
Behüte Gott, ich schämte mich.
Wie mich der Gute
Herzte, keiner
Erfahre das als er und ich,
Und ein kleines Vögelein,
Tandaradei!
Das wird wohl verschwiegen sein!
If any knew
He lay with me
(May God forbid!), for shame I’d die.
What did he do?
May none but he
Ever be sure of that — and I,
And one extremely tiny bird,
Tándaradéi,
Who will, I think, not say a word.

The number of syllabies is almost the same as in the original (my inability too hear an emphasis prevents me to really understand the metric). The verseform (abc abc ded) is kept. And it’s fascinating how well intention, content and wording are preserved!

After all an almost perfect example of  how you can translate a poem.

Die Silbenanzahl ist fast die gleiche wie im Original (meine Unfähigkeit eine Betonung zu hören hält mich davon ab die Metrik zu erkennen). Die Reimfolge (abc abc ded) wird beibehalten. Und es ist faszinierend wie gut Intention, Inhalt und Wortlaut übertragen werden.

Alles in allem ein nahezu perfektes Beispiel dafür wie man ein Gedicht übersetzt.

Sources:
https://de.wikisource.org/wiki/Under_der_linden_(Codex_Manesse)
http://www.planck.com/rhymedtranslations/vogelweidelinden.htm

4 Gedanken zu “About the translation of poetry/Über die Übersetzung von Gedichten

    • Ah, now it happend to me too 😉 I guess we both rush a little bit through the text while we read 🙂
      Although I did translate english poems into german, I haven’t yet translated german poems into english. But thats a great idea – thank you for that 🙂

      Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

